Visible background

Support and pre-sales questions about Texture Doctor

Visible background

Postby sandown1943 on Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:28 pm

I just purchased TD and converted a set of bmps to dxt3. Now all the images are shown with their black backgrounds in the scenery. I used dxtfixerx which said all the converted files were missing an alpha channel, so I let dxtfixerx fix the faulty files. Still all the images are shown with their black backgrounds in the scenery.
What have I done wrong?
(I used the TD backup function to convert back to bmps, and the scenery now works fine again.)
sandown1943
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: Visible background

Postby Support on Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:56 pm

This is strange and could be a bug in TD. Will check.
Support
 
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:59 pm

Re: Visible background

Postby sandown1943 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:36 pm

I bought Texture Doctor specifically to perform this operation. How about some product support? :?:
sandown1943
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: Visible background

Postby sandown1943 on Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:33 pm

Not much evidence of any product support here. Can I have my money back?
sandown1943
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: Visible background

Postby Support on Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:54 am

If you bought Contrails Pro using the Flight1 Wrapper or SWREG, please send me a private message with the order number for refund.

If you bought it on another website, please contact the website where you purchased it.
Support
 
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:59 pm

Re: Visible background

Postby sandown1943 on Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:39 pm

TD, not Contrails. See previous posts. Still, at least I have your attention.
sandown1943
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: Visible background

Postby Support on Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:10 am

If you fixed the alpha channel and the images still show up with the black background, it means textures in the DXT format probably will not work.

One specific case when this can happen are very old scenery files in the format that pre-dates FS2002 (note that even recent sceneries can still contain scenery objects in the old format, notably trees). Before FS2002, transparent pixels were done not using the alpha channel, but simply by declaring one of the images colors as "transparent". Encoding the texture as .DXT will probably stop this from working, because of subtle changes to colors caused by the DXT compression.

The solution is to leave such textures in their original format.
Support
 
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:59 pm

Re: Visible background

Postby violajsilver on Thu Jun 02, 2016 5:54 am

The post was really helpful for me.
violajsilver
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 5:28 am

Studies

Postby JamesCameron on Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:29 am

It does in any casing, have impact. On the off possibility that you detune an old easy TV to the room between station, around one percent of the snow distinctive on the screen is inferable from the MBR. Read more at Buyassignment.com
JamesCameron
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:21 am

Re: Visible background

Postby Rose92 on Thu May 25, 2017 11:21 am

I want to make copy but how can i set background-image to header tag. I tried some check-in-off in inspect element to disable attributes and other but cant figure out how...
Here is my codepen. Background image on header tag is not visible, why that, and how to fix it? Narrative Essays
Rose92
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:19 am

Re: Visible background

Postby Rose92 on Mon May 29, 2017 9:39 am

CTM has a feature where you can set different textures for blocks depending on which biome they are found. To make the TARDIS Police Box use custom textures the 3 x 3 block area where the TARDIS lands is set to a DEEP_OCEAN biome. When the TARDIS leaves the location, the biome is reset back to what is was originally. Write my Paper- Dissertation Mill
Rose92
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:19 am

Re: Visible background

Postby walterscott807 on Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:15 am

A lot of people prefer dark/black backgrounds b/c it brings out the color of the fish. It's normal to see the water on your background; you can use an algae scraper with the soft white pad to clean it if you want to. If Buy an Assignment UK & you put some tall decorations in there, that'll distract from the background to where it's not as noticeable, if that makes sense. Have fun. :)
walterscott807
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:12 am


Return to Texture Doctor support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest